Author Topic: Opt no-pk flag; how could it work?  (Read 969 times)

Nostramazos

Opt no-pk flag; how could it work?
« on: July 15, 2017, 05:39:53 AM »
Instead of hijacking other threads, let's open up a new one for this.

Opt no-pk flag could be a default setting on creation that will get much love from certain type of players i.e. me. I assume most players would chose to have one opt no-pk flag character and the rest would be as normal. The idea is that you have one character that you can use to explore and have fun even if your whole clan is on a deadly war with two headed, four handed, five legged and no reproductive organs (unless you can fit gear on them) players from another clan.

Now, I am no coding expert. At age 5, I zipped the Internet and I live off royalties ever since, so I never had to learn code. What I would suggest is the following:

a) Opt no-pk flag characters have access to levels and ranks like everyone else

b) Limit the gear that opt no-pk flag players will have access to. These gear can be decided from the players themselves. This will be a process to be refined within the wipe. No bashes, damage reduction, and ALL +damage essentially? All yours. You want to decide on some other gear during the wipe, i.e. set pieces. Please do. Opt no-pk flags after all are meant to explore and dt a lot. ANYONE who wants to make an uber duper super character should NOT choose an opt no-pk flag character.

c) Opt no-pk players can be grouped with pk players, however, the second one of the normal players flags themselves, group automatically disbands and we go to a mode where opt no-pk players cannot use any skills and spells on the flagged players.

Many disagreements concern how such a system can be abused. What happens if opt no-pk player rushes in Silvanesti and heals Cyan and then the sky falls on our heads and we all die and the opt no-pk player has 8 corpses to loot and loots everything and rents and lives happy ever after: